Chair Wm. Weston J. Newton

First Vice-Chair: Laurie Slade Funderburk

Katherine E. (Katie) Arrington William K. (Bill) Bowers Neal A. Collins MaryGail K. Douglas William M. (Bill) Hixon Jeffrey E. (Jeff) Johnson Robert L. Ridgeway, III Bill Taylor John Taliaferro (Jay) West, IV

Jennifer L. Dobson Research Director

Cathy A. Greer Administration Coordinator

## Legislative Oversight Committee



South Carolina House of Representatives

Post Office Box 11867 Columbia, South Carolina 29211 Telephone: (803) 212-6810 • Fax: (803) 212-6811

Room 228 Blatt Building

Bruce W. Bannister Gary E. Clary Chandra E. Dillard Phyllis J. Henderson Joseph H. Jefferson, Jr. Mandy Powers Norrell Tommy M. Stringer Edward R. Tallon, Sr. Robert Q. Williams

Charles L. Appleby, IV Legal Counsel

Carmen J. McCutcheon Simon Research Analyst/Auditor

Kendra H. Wilkerson Fiscal/Research Analyst

October 1, 2018

<u>Via Email</u> Mr. Duane Parrish, Director South Carolina Department of Parks, Recreation, and Tourism 1205 Pendleton St. Columbia, South Carolina 29201

Dear Director Parrish:

The Executive Subcommittee appreciates the South Carolina Department of Parks, Recreation, and Tourism's (SCPRT) partnership in the oversight process. As follow-up from the agency's September 27, 2018 meeting, the Subcommittee seeks additional information from the agency. Please provide this information by Friday, October 19, 2018.

- 1. Please provide a list of proposals the agency has issued during the last year for construction or vendor services up to \$100,000, names of the entities which have submitted bids for the proposals, and each entity awarded a bid.
- 2. Please provide information on the number of attempted hacks into the agency's data systems during the last year.

In responding to these questions, please remember the Committee's expectations which are provided in the Committee's Standard Practice 9. The Subcommittee looks forward to working collaboratively with the agency during the oversight process. Thank you and your team for your service to the citizens of South Carolina.

Sincerely,

Any & Clary

Gary E. Clary Subcommittee Chair

cc: The Honorable Laurie Slade Funderburk The Honorable Wm. Weston J. Newton The Honorable Robert Q. Williams